Posted in comedy, humor, humour, writing

These People Are Not Idiots [a blog] #whatiwrite

If you came here via Google Images, congratulations. You're now on a government list.
If you came here via Google Images, congratulations. You’re now on a government list.

These people bought my book. Technically and scientifically, that puts them in the top 2% of intelligent people who own electronic readers [source- snopes.com]. Are you an idiot? Of course you’re not! You’re reading this, aren’t you? Well stop reading it, and read the sample of my book on Amazon. After you read what these INCREDIBLY INTELLIGENT people with IMPECCABLE TASTE IN LITERATURE had to say about Girl Afraid.

 

Excellent read 5 Sep 2013
By Dave
Format:Kindle Edition

I bought this because I thoroughly enjoyed the first book Boys of Summer. While the first book may be a bit parochial for the Irish, this certainly crossed all boundaries, be it geographical or otherwise! A gripping read, it rollercoasters your emotions to a thrilling climax and spits you out at the end! Well worth the cover price (and then some) compared to what will cost you £/15-20 in the high street.

 

 

Gripping the whole way through 3 Sep 2013
By Just_Lou
Format:Kindle Edition

 

After reading the Debut book The Boys Of Summer I could not wait to see what Ciaran West would produce for his second novel and it did not disappoint!His writing style in Girl Afraid is totally different but totally gripping. From the moment Alice receives a phone call right to the last page I could not put this book down. It takes you to the most seedy places on the internet you could imagine.The way he switches between Alices fight to get Poppy back, and Poppy telling her story is seamless and you really do wonder if it could get any more disturbing (I will let you find out for yourself if it does!!)Some of the story lines immediately make you think of real life things that have happened and for me this made the suspense even more unbearable. It really does make you question could this happen in real life??

I only put the book down as I literately could not keep my eyes open any longer, but as soon as I woke the next morning I reached for it and didn’t(couldn’t)put it down again until I had finished it.

What more can I say? This book will not disappoint, it will have you gripped from beginning to end, and I now can’t wait to see what this very talented author comes up with next!

 

Fantastic thriller you won’t be able to put down…even if you want to September 4, 2013
By Cindy
Format:Kindle Edition

 

The best thrillers keep you up way past your bedtime–to those last minutes reading in bed, bleary-eyed, trying to slap yourself awake so you can keep going just one more page. Girl Afraid is one of those books. I was blown away by West’s second outing (The Boys of Summer is a great first effort), and unprepared for how drawn in I would be to this heart-pounding child kidnapping. I’m not going to hold back here; the subject matter in Girl Afraid is at times, sickening. As the mother of young children, I had to step away from the story at least twice, because the goings-on were completely terrifying. But, I simply couldn’t stay away. I had to find out what happened, not only to the child in question, but also to each of the other characters…both good guys and bad. Every person is interesting; his or her own motivations push forward with the same pulsing beat as the kidnapping itself. The terrifying reality of our world in this “age of the internet” is explored to its darkest corners; its most depraved inhabitants make their intentions and desires known…and all we can do is try to hold on to hope for one little girl, and for ourselves.Simply put, Girl Afraid is enthralling. Read it now.

 

 

You can’t put a kindle in the freezer. September 5, 2013
By Jenn TheYellowDart
Format:Kindle Edition

 

When I get scared, I pull a Joey from Friends: the book goes in the freezer. I was unable to do that in this case, so it went under the kitchen sink. I read Ciaran West’s first book, The Boys of Summer, and I have to say that his 2nd outing, Girl Afraid, is even more thrilling than the first.I don’t want to give anything away, suffice to say that this is a book about child abduction, good guys and bad, and the reader’s heart-pounding terror. I genuinely cared about the characters, which is why I reacted so strongly and ended with an under-the-sink-book-hiding.Please, do yourself a favour, and buy this book. Well worth the price. I am already eagerly looking forward to West’s next endeavour!

 

 

Girl Afraid – once you pick it up you won’t put it down again 5. September 2013
Von cinekat
Format:Kindle Edition|Von Amazon bestätigter Kauf

 

I have a serious bone to pick with the author: After reading til 3am last night, I actually called in sick today so I could finish it. Warning: This is a book to devour in a week-end, not one to pick up on commutes or for a quick browse before bed..
If you enjoy suspense thrillers with strong multiple characters, this is the book for you. I was fascinated by the varying points of view, which were each rendered with equal care and honesty – whether the plot was being driven by a child, a minder, a parent, a paedophile,… there were no cheap clichés. Each narrative was thoughtful and thought-provoking – often uncomfortably so.
West has the rare ability to illustrate mindsets and motivations through dialogue, leading to a far faster-paced story. The writing style is both sincere and wry, a bit reminiscent of Christopher Brookmyre without the whimsy. In spite of the nail-biting plot, several lines are so well-written with unexpected twists in reason that they stay with you (“Epping Forest was full of holes with men in them…”)
I enjoyed his first book, Boys of Summer, and was a bit hesitant to pick up this one – strong debuts are so often followed by weaker fare. Weak this is not.
My advice: Lay in sufficient stocks of food, liquor and tobacco. Lock the doors. Switch off the phones. Tell your loved ones you’ve gone on a weekend retreat. And then start reading…

 

 

THAT’S RIGHT, PEOPLE. You read it correctly. They even love it in GERMANY. Well, Austria, but it’s the same thing, really. (THAT’S AN IN-JOKE, FROM THE BOOK).

 

Here’s the link!http://www.amazon.com/Girl-Afraid-ebook/dp/B00EPIXL36/

 

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Girl-Afraid-ebook/dp/B00EPIXL36/

 

http://www.amazon.ca/Girl-Afraid-ebook/dp/B00EPIXL36/

 

and http://www.amazon.de/Girl-Afraid-ebook/dp/B00EPIXL36/

 

Or any other Amazon you care to mention. Squeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Or something. Thanking you in advance!

 

Author:

Self proclaimed author, cynic, saviour of humanity.

You're amazing! Why not say something amazing?

